Asking the Right Questions

The other day I was feeling bombarded with a memory. You know the ones… replaying the ones where you said something you regret or where someone said or did something that was hurtful. I realized that I was replaying this painful thing over and over again. And then I realized that I needed to take that thought captive and submit it to Jesus (2 Corinthians 10:5).

I tried using some of the healing tools I have learned over time… ask Jesus to be with me in the memory, ask Jesus to speak truth to me to replace any lies I believe. It wasn’t working- I wasn’t feeling breakthrough in my thinking or emotions. So, I decided to ask for help. I asked the Holy Spirit, the Helper- the Counselor, to help me ask Him the right question. And He helped me! The question that I needed to ask Him was, “How do I keep my heart soft?” And after I asked Him that question, He gave me specific strategy to do that in the future.  So, I got to say “bye bye” to the lies attached to the painful memory and “hello” to new strategy.

I’m sharing this because it was a breakthrough moment for me. To ask Him to help me ask Him the right question.  He could have just broke through for me, but God’s Presence in my life isn’t just so He can fix things for me (even though He LOVES to make things new), it’s so we can be in relationship together. He isn’t just my “answer machine”, He is my Papa, my Friend, my Companion.

So, next time you feel stuck in something, I encourage you to ask Him, “Holy Spirit, what is the right question to ask You right now?”

One thought on “Asking the Right Questions

  1. This also reminds me of when we are praying for someone and we are trying to think of what to pray when all we have to do is ask Holy Spirit, “how do you want me to pray for this person?” So simple, but so easy to forget. I think I, and possibly others, have learned to depend on ourselves for too long when all along we have the One who knows all right there with us. We just have to ask for His help:) So amazing!

Share your thoughts....

