Help me know Your Love…

The title of this entry is also a prayer, and perhaps the most important request you can make of God.

“If I don’t have Your love then I don’t have anything. If I have Your love then I have everything.”

Statements like this sound overly simple to our minds that seem to enjoy complicating things. Everything related to following Jesus falls under the umbrella of Love.

What about following rules? Jesus said that the greatest commandments were loving God and loving people and that the entirety of the law and prophets words hang from the place of love.

What about sanctification? It’s my opinion that sanctification (looking progressively more and more like Jesus in our words, thoughts, and actions) is the process of knowing God’s perfect love in every nook and cranny of your heart.

Spiritual gifts? If you don’t have love, then you don’t have anything of value. The greatest thing is love. (1 Corinthians 13)

I am in the process of reading the book Mother Teresa’s Secret Fire. If you want to get more wrecked by His love, it would be a good fit for you.

When I talk about God’s love, I like to use words like “ruined” or “wrecked”. It’s the idea that once you taste the best food, junk food loses it’s appeal. Once you taste the “good stuff”, you are “ruined” for anything less than that. Reality is, the BEST OF THE BEST food for our souls is available to each and every one of us, every minute, of every day.

Here’s the invitation from Papa:

“If you are thirsty, come here; come, there’s water for all. Whoever is poor and penniless can still come and buy the food I sell. There’s no cost- here, have some food, hearty and delicious, and beverages, pure and good. I don’t understand why you spend your money for things that don’t nourish or work so hard for what leaves you empty. Attend to Me and eat what is good; enjoy the richest, most delectable of things. Listen closely, and come even closer. My words will give life…” Isaiah 55:1-3

He longs for our “yes” to this invitation. Our “yes” doesn’t have to look like hours upon hours of prayer and Bible study every day. It looks like having the glance of our hearts turned toward Him whatever we are doing. Teresa of Avila says it this way…

“Friendship with God is for you to look at Him. He never takes His eyes off you.”

____________________________

JESUS, come. Teach us how to abide in You. Thank You that Your love is available to me all of the time. Thank You for being available to me all of the time. Thank You for saying I can have more of You. Help me receive Your love for me… help me eat it, drink it, swim in it, breathe it. Help me receive so I can bring You glory by being what You made me to be- LOVED! Give me a holy hunger and a holy thirst so I will eat and drink the best of food, the stuff you prepare for me!

One thought on “Help me know Your Love…

  1. at our life group, we had a question to answer and it was where do you feel most connected to God? Alot of people described mountains, oceans, sunset and rises, forrests ect… and it seemed to make us melancholly and smile inside out. Then we read that in creation God loves us more than anything else he created, the very things that make us feel God’s presence. It gave me such a strange feeling to think that he loves us more than what we think is so beautiful and makes us feel good (in His presence). Once again, outdone by God, humbled and amazed at how much He loves us.

Share your thoughts....

