Truth and Love

I used to believe that love and truth were 2 different things. But I also believed they were connected because the Bible teaches us to “speak the truth in love.” (Ephesians 4:15)

I thought that “speaking in love” was about saying “nice” words all the time, but then I read the words of Jesus and found that He spoke pretty sternly sometimes and even made divisive statements. My definition of Love needed to change.

I thought that “speaking the truth” was about being in alignment with what Scripture says, but then I read the stories of Jesus interacting the the Pharisees. The Pharisees knew the commands of the Old Testament and they quoted them, and Jesus told them that their father was Satan because of their unbelief. My definition of Truth needed to change.

These are the boxes and the false definitions that I held about groups of people:

I used to think that some Christians cared more about “truth” than “love”. These “truth Christians” weren’t concerned with how their words came across because they were “right” and that is what is most important to them.

I used to think that some Christians cared more about “love” than “truth”. These “love Christians” weren’t concerned with personal holiness because they were “free” and showing “love” is what is most important to them.

All those quotes around words are because the “truth Christians” weren’t really living in TRUTH and the “love Christians” weren’t really living in LOVE.

Those boxes and definitions I had were all wrong. There are not “truth Christians” and “love Christians”. It’s not my job to group people up and put them in boxes in order to try to make sense of things.

I don’t have all of this LOVE and TRUTH stuff worked out, but here is what I understand so far…

1. Love and Truth are like 2 sides of the same coin. You cannot have one without the other.

2. Love without Truth is just human sentiment.

3. Truth without Love is just information. Information doesn’t set people free, but Truth does (John 8:32).

4. Jesus said He is the Truth. Truth is a person (John 14:6).

5. God is Love. Love is a person.

-Dani

Share your thoughts....

