All Things New (Part I)

I have been a little absent from the blog world lately because so much has been going on in our lives! I have been waiting for the right time to share on this blog, and I feel the freedom to do that now. There is really quite an extended story that goes along with what God has been doing lately, and I will be sharing in this space what I feel the Holy Spirit leads me to. My main reason for sharing this publicly is because I feel that God wants to use my story. It is the power of testimony, and I believe that God uses our life stories in deep ways, even to shift things inside of people.

There certainly have been a lot of things shifting in me this year.

On January 1, 2012 the Lord was speaking to me while I was at the One Thing conference in Kansas City, MO. God was showing me pictures and speaking to me about love. He showed me a picture of me kneeling down with my heart in my hands, my arms were stretched out before me and I was presenting my heart to the Lord like a gift. Also, my face was turned up, looking to God. The  words that went along with this picture were “This is the posture of 2012.”  This simple picture represents surrender and humility before the Lord. The sense I got was that I was holding my heart before the Lord and saying, “Have Your way.” It was also very important that my face was turned up to the Lord- I wasn’t looking at my heart, I was looking straight at God. Here is the picture I drew in my journal that day…

There was another picture that God showed me at the same conference. It was also about love. The Lord showed me 3 hearts in sequence. The first heart was healthy except that it had tumor like growths all over it. God wasn’t alarmed by this heart, but He did want to cut the tumors off of it- it was like this heart had stuff attached to it that just wasn’t necessary or helpful. The second heart I saw was large and it looked vibrant and full of love, but the Lord told me that even though this heart looked big, it was really just puffed up with human sentiment and not real love. The third heart was small, a lot smaller than the second heart, and it was made of solid gold. God said that even though this heart didn’t look big, the love it held was pure and real, it carried the Love of God. I knew which heart I wanted right away! I told the Lord, “Even if my love doesn’t look big, I want the third heart, I want to carry Your pure love!” My sister, Breanna, drew this representation of the hearts…

Hopefully you are getting the idea that the core of this story is about Love. And not just any love, but the Love of God. The center of it all is something that we (Ben and I) call The 18 Inch Journey- a term we heard from some of our favorite worship leaders. There are about 18 inches between the head and the heart, and my story is a story of the Love of God traveling those 18 inches. This is not me saying that I have “arrived” by any means, but I am also not going to diminish what God has done in recent months. Each of our journeys with the Lord is a progression, and there is always MORE!   I have a lot more that I am planning to share this week, so stay tuned!

Now all of us, with our faces unveiled, reflect the glory of the Lord as if we are mirrors; and so we are being transformed, metamorphosed, into His same image from one radiance of glory to another, just as the Spirit of the Lord accomplishes it.  2 Corinthians 3:18

Share your thoughts....

