God Trusts You

Monday morning at IHOPE House of Prayer, we were catching up as a staff team and sharing a bit about what the Lord has been highlighting to us lately in the Bible and in other ways. Psalm 29 was something that both me and my friend Stuart had been meditating on the previous week- so cool when the people in my life are hearing the same things I am- confirmation brings so much encouragement!

As Stuart was sharing his thoughts, the call of the prophet Jeremiah came to mind right away, so I looked it up in my new copy of The Voice. Here’s what I found:

“Eternal One: ‘Before I even formed you in your mother’s womb, I knew all about you. Before you drew your first breath, I had already chosen you to be My prophet to speak My word to the nations.’

Jeremiah: ‘Ah, Eternal Lord! I’m too young and inexperienced to speak for You.’

Eternal One: ‘Don’t use your youth as an excuse; you can and will go wherever I send you. You can and will say whatever I tell you to say. You have no reason to fear the people you speak to, for I am with you and will defend you.’

Then the eternal reached out and touched my mouth, and He gave me His divine message. 

Eternal One: ‘Look, I have placed My words in you. You will know what to say now, for you will be My voice. This very day I appointed you to speak with My authority over nations and kingdoms. Your word- My word- will have the power to uproot and stamp out; it will destroy and upend. And then your word- My word- will rebuild and plant anew.'”

There are certain passages of Jeremiah where scholars debate about WHO is speaking, Jeremiah or God? The answer is YES! Jeremiah is receiving the words of God and as the words go forth, it may as well be God that is speaking them, for they are His words. What a wild God to entrust mere humans to carry His message!

But that’s how He likes to do things, in partnership with us. Sounds like a messy idea to me- people are unpredictable and inconsistent. But our God isn’t a control freak with OCD tendencies (He doesn’t check the events of Earth like a Facebook news feed)- He is a loving Daddy looking for a BIG family! He is mostly concerned with our partnership with Him, not our perfection- something He knew we couldn’t achieve on our own, so He made the Way- through the cross.

So, here’s what I want you to hear… HE TRUSTS YOU. God, the Eternal One, has entrusted YOU with His words. Sound like too big of a task for you? It is. That’s why He has filled His people with His Spirit and called us to 100% dependence on Him in everything.

Just as the Word of God goes forth like a 2 edged sword- one edge cutting off what is useless and one edge bringing life- you are called to carefully wield your words. Words have power to bring life and death- so be careful with each other.

“If you’re called upon to talk, speak as though God put the words in your mouth.” 1 Peter 4:11

2 thoughts on “God Trusts You

Share your thoughts....

