Powerhouse

“Power: the ability to act or produce an effect; a possession of authority or influence”

One of the words being highlighted to me over and over again in this season is POWER, or POWERHOUSE. Three different people over a period of 2 weeks told me- “You are a powerhouse.” What does that mean? It means they perceive the Spirit of God in me- the source of my power.

That phrase may feel uncomfortable to say or think about: “my power.” I know it has been uncomfortable for me. It sounds… new agey? perhaps arrogant? overly spiritual? Whatever my hesitancies are about the idea of containing power within myself, I need to get over it. This is why:

From Paul’s prayer to God for the Ephesians: “Let them see the full extent of Your power that is at work in those of us who believe, and may it be done according to Your might and power. Friends, it is this same might and resurrection power that He used to raise our Liberating King from the dead and to position Him at His right hand in heaven.” Ephesians 1:19-20 The Voice

We learn a few things from this text about the power made available to us …

FIRST: the power is God’s and it is given to us from Him

SECOND: this power of God is at work IN us

THIRD: this power IN us is the same power that the Righteous Father used to raise Christ from the dead

I have a tendency to get hung up on the pronouns here…so whose power is it? It is God’s or is it mine? I believe that the answer is BOTH. Jesus taught His followers that everything He has is available to us (see Luke 15:31). Now, let there be no confusion about the source of this power- the source is always God. In and of myself, apart from God, I have no good thing. But when I am united with God through Christ, I have all things because I am His and He is mine. Because of His mercy and goodness, I am invited to be a carrier of His life and power. To BRING IT.

My encouragement is this: embrace that you have been designed by God to be a powerhouse of His presence. To carry His life and living water to the dead and thirsty. This is a privilege and honor which is to be carried with humility- true humility which does not degrade the self but looks to God before self.

The world is waiting, captives are waiting, the hungry and thirst and spiritually dead are waiting- creation is waiting! Will you ask the Holy Spirit to fill you with the courage needed to “BRING IT”?

One thought on “Powerhouse

  1. Got me. I often feel powerless in hard situations. Even in the midst of those situations, I should realize that I am full of power, even if what I think should happen isn’t happening.

Share your thoughts....

