Thanking Him for the Unseen

As I prepare to go to a women’s retreat next week, I have been asking Papa about what He wants to do in me. Not surprisingly, He has been bringing up issues of the heart, places that need healing and greater freedom. We all have these places, and the Lord loves to journey with us and bring freedom to us in these places.

We are often very aware of our painful places- places prone to insecurity, fear, shame. And as we are faithful to open these places of ourselves to Jesus, He is faithful to minister to us by His Holy Spirit- washing us, freeing us, and reminding us again and again of our True names.

As I was thinking about all of this and talking to Jesus, I felt like the Spirit reminded me of the unseen work of God in me. I felt like He was saying… “you have no idea how much I have protected you, you have no concept of how much I have healed you, you are My Triumphant One.” He wasn’t belittling me for having such a small awareness, He was encouraging me.

So I started THANKING Him, for all of the unseen work He has done.

How many angels has He sent to minister to me when I needed it?

How many flaming arrows of the enemy haven’t hit me because other people were praying for my protection?

How much work has He done in my heart to enable me to love Him?

How much grace has He given me because I have asked for it over and over again while trusting Him with my Heart?

These are things I don’t get to know yet, but I still praise Him for it. That is faith, trusting in what is not seen. Trusting that what is not seen is in a sense more real than what I do see.

It is so easy to just thank God for what we see He has done. But He is also working, maybe even especially working, in the unseen realm- the realm of the heart, bringing us to the fullness of life in Him.

One thought on “Thanking Him for the Unseen

  1. “He wasn’t belittling me for having such a small awareness, He was encouraging me….So I started THANKING Him, for all of the unseen work He has done.”
    So true, and so very well said. Thank you, Amy, for the encouraging words.
    2 Cor. 4:16-18

Share your thoughts....

