Jesus’ Top Priorities for the Church: Glory

“Father, I want those you have given me to be with me where I am, and to see my glory, the glory you have given me because you loved me before the creation of the world.” v.24

The third request that Jesus makes for the Church is that they (we) would behold His glory. This final request is connected to the previous request- that we would be with Him where He is. Logically, we need to be near Him in order to see Him in His glory.

This is an interesting request, and you may wonder like I did: why would Jesus want me to behold His glory? The previous 2 requests have a purpose I can see more plainly…

1. Jesus wants UNITY in the Church in order to be a testimony of Him to the world.

2. Jesus wants FELLOWSHIP with us because that is the primary reason He made us- to receive His love, love Him, and love  others.

But there is another thing that God is looking for, and that is WORSHIP. We know this from John 4:23

“Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth, for they are the kind of worshipers the Father seeks.”

In order to worship God rightly, we need a right view of God. We need spiritual eyes to “see” Him and a holy imagination to think about how BIG He is. “Glory” means brightness, splendor, magnificence, preeminence- the “most exalted state”. I believe that this final request of Jesus is an invitation to worship. When we are “with Him where He is” then we can behold His magnificence and worship Him in the beauty of holiness.

I went to a conference at the end of 2011 called One Thing. The subtitle was “Jesus, Our Magnificent Obsession”. Humans have proneness to obsession. Some call it having an “addictive personality”. I think that we all have “addictive personalities”, it’s just that some addictions are more socially acceptable than others- for example, being a workaholic is more acceptable in our culture than being a drug addict. We were made to worship, and every single human worships something, whether it is God, ourselves, our image, or a host of other things. There is a quote that says “Humans are incurably religious”.

What is your obsession? Are you obsessed with the Magnificent One?

I am so thankful that Jesus prays for me and His Church that we would be with Him and worship the thing we were made to: Him.

Share your thoughts....

