The Conditional Peace of God

God has many amazing promises in his Word. Most Christians (including me!) want the rewards of these promises, but many of them come with conditions.

A popular topic that is preached in the church today is the unconditional love of God- God’s constant and unrelenting pursuit of humanity. God’s love is a gift to us- not earned, deserved, or attained by anything we do. However, there are specific promises of God that are available because of God, but accessed by our choices.

For example, the peace of God. I want to live every moment in the perfect peace of God, unshaken by circumstance and not rocked by the frustrations of life. And you know what? The perfect peace of God is available to me all of the time! But I must access it, and the Word instructs me how to:

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable- if anything is excellent or praiseworthy- think about such things.” Philippians 4:6-8

“You (God) will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in you.” Isaiah 26:3

We are shown the path to the peace of God- it comes when we choose to set our minds on Him. It is simple!- but as we all know, not easy. It takes practice. It takes me “signing up” to focus on Him again and again and again. God is ready to give me and you His peace, but He cannot make us say “yes” to it.

Praise God for the Helper who lives in me- the Holy Spirit who REMINDS us of the things of God! I need help, and I need reminding!

Holy Spirit, help me, remind me to fix my eyes on Jesus, to set my mind on things above so I can relate rightly to other people and honor you in my thoughts and actions.

One thought on “The Conditional Peace of God

  1. whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable- if anything is excellent or praiseworthy- think about such things.”

Share your thoughts....

